Countdown To The Cricket World Cup – Squads (Australia, South Africa & West Indies)

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

The Countdown Begins. ICC Cricket World Cup 2011, the biggest sporting event is scheduled to kick off on 19th February 2011. Here is a review about Cricket World Cup Squads:


While the Kangaroos may have lost the Ashes and slumped to No. 5 in the ICC Test Rankings, they are still the No.1 team in ODI’s and the reigning World Champions. Although they have faced the rough side of the stick of late, they have bounced back in style beating England by 6 wickets just before the World Cup squad was chosen.

Brett Lee looked pretty fit in his first international after 14 months and his two wickets sealed his place in the final 15 that would travel to India for the World Cup. The selectors also decided to risk injury prone quickie Shaun Tait and Mike Hussey, who suffered a serious hamstring tear, in the squad. Mitchell Johnson and Doug Bollinger were the other pacers while the selectors also decided to include John Hastings which meant that Peter Siddle missed out. Nathan Hauritz was selected as the lone spinner ahead of Xavier Doherty while Steve Smith and Dave Hussey would play the support role. Tim Paine was included as the reserve keeper while Shaun Marsh was unlucky to miss out.

Squad: Ricky Ponting (Captain), Michael Clarke, Brad Haddin (Wicketkeeper), Shane Watson, Tim Paine, Michael Hussey, David Hussey, Steven Smith, Cameron White, Nathan Hauritz, Mitchell Johnson, Doug Bollinger, John Hastings, Brett Lee, Shaun Tait.

South Africa:

The South African selectors waited till the end of the third ODI against India to pick their 15 member World Cup squad that would travel to the sub-continent. Imran Tahir, the Pakistan born leg spinner, was the only uncapped player named in the squad while Faf du Pleiss, who scored an impressive 60 on debut at Cape Town, was also included in the squad ahead of David Miller. Colin Ingram, who has been batting at the No.3 spot in the absence of Jacques Kallis, was also included despite his poor form while the selectors also retained Robin Peterson, one of the four survivors of the 2007 World Cup.

Wayne Parnell has been retained despite his inconsistency which means that the big hitting Albie Morkel misses out. Parnell completes the pace quartet which includes Steyn, Morne Morkel and Tsotsobe along with Kallis as the fifth bowler. A.B. De Villiers will continue to keep wickets while Morne Van Wyk was selected as the reserve keeper ahead of the experienced Boucher, which might signal the end of his illustrious limited overs career.

Squad: Graeme Smith (Captain), Johan Botha, A.B. De Villiers (Wicketkeeper), Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, Morne Van Wyk, Colin Ingram, Faf du Pleiss, J.P. Duminy, Imran Tahir, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Wayne Parnell.

West Indies:

The West Indian selectors offered Ramnaresh Sarwan’s deteriorating career a lease of hope as they included him in the 15 man squad for the World Cup. Sarwan last played an ODI in May and was dropped after runs dried up from his willow. His poor run continued on the domestic circuit and he wasn’t even offered a WICB Contract. However his impressive average of 57.30 in 15 matches in the sub-continent is might have made the selectors give him another look-in.

Chris Gayle, Kieran Pollard and Dwayne Bravo, all of whom turned down WICB Contracts last year, were included in the squad. Carlton Baugh, who hasn’t worn the West Indies cap since November 2008, was preferred over Denesh Ramdin, as the keeper. Andre Russell, who is yet to play an ODI, was included as a part of the pace attack that will also comprise Kemar Roach and Ravi Rampaul while Suleiman Benn and Nikita Miller are the spinners in the squad. Darren Bravo, Devon Smith and Adrian Barath were also included in the squad while all rounder Dwayne Smith didn’t make the cut in the squad that will be led by Darren Sammy.

Squad: Darren Sammy (Captain), Chris Gayle, Adrian Barath, Carlton Baugh (Wicketkeeper), Devon Smith, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Kieran Pollard, Suleiman Benn, Nikita Miller, Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Kemar Roach.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Monish Menon


Hi, I am Monish Menon from Hyderabad and currently working at Franklin Templeton Investments as a Compliance Business Analyst. Sport has always been my passion since I was a kid and I invest all my non-existent free time by watching, playing, writing and analyzing various sporting events across the world. Apart from being a diehard Manchester United fan and a Ferrari supporter, I believe that Roger Federer is still the best tennis player and Sachin Tendulkar is God. I play club cricket and I also am a part of my organization’s cricket and football squad. Being such a sports fanatic, writing about it is something that came naturally to me and I am glad that I got an opportunity through to share my thoughts with the rest of the world. For other articles written by me, you can visit my blog at


T20 Global League: KXIP’s Preity Zinta to own Stellenbosch franchise

T20 Global League: KXIP’s Preity Zinta to own Stellenbosch franchise

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on September 8th, 2017

From Punjab to Paarl – Bollywood actress and IPL Kings XI Punjab team co-owner, PreityZinta, has been confirmed as the owner of the Stellenbosch franchise ..


The Premier League arrives in Bengaluru

The Premier League arrives in Bengaluru

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on October 14th, 2017

The Premier League has arrived in Bengaluru. Legends such as Alan Shearer, John Barnes, Robert Pires and Shay Given will be meeting fans who are at the Premier ..


Rafael Nadal vs Stan Wawrinka: French Open Men’s Final 2017 – Preview

Rafael Nadal vs Stan Wawrinka: French Open Men’s Final 2017 – Preview

Posted by: Atish Home Chowdhury on June 11th, 2017

The stage is set for the mouth-watering and nail-biting clash of the two Tennis stalwarts of the current era; Rafael Nadal and Stan Wawrinka. This will be the u ..


Life Lessons learned from Sports & Fitness #TOSBDay

Life Lessons learned from Sports & Fitness #TOSBDay

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on September 26th, 2016

Held on Sept 1st, The Outstanding Speakers’ Bureau (TOSB) Twinterview consisted of sports panelists such as Mark Gallagher (Public Speaker on F1 race), Shayam ..


Boxing Federation of India successfully concludes AIBA Course and Examination

Boxing Federation of India successfully concludes AIBA Course and Examination

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on February 24th, 2017

Rohtak, February 24, 2016: In continuation to produce the AIBA certified Coaches, Referees and Judges; Boxing Federation of India successfully organised the AIB ..

Other Sports

Indian athletes begin impressively at 22nd Asian Athletics Championships

Indian athletes begin impressively at 22nd Asian Athletics Championships

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on July 6th, 2017

Indian interests on the opening day of the 22nd Asian Athletics Championships were high with national record holder Muhammed Anas easing into the semi-finals of ..

One stop guide to all the latest sports news, reviews, opinions, fixtures and live scores from India and around the world.

Copyright © 2017 | The Sports Mirror