IPL 4: Delhi Daredevils Team Analysis

Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils

The Delhi team cannot be called Daredevils anymore, there is nothing daring about the team composition. With the strangest selection of players, most were perplexed as to what was going on in the GMR minds on the day of the auction.

They did not bother to retain Gautam Gambhir and bought Ajit Agarkar who is an all rounder for a hefty sum. Question is why? Agarkar was disastrous in the previous IPL seasons where he was playing for Kolkata Knight Riders. He lacks discipline, is not at all penetrating and does not have aggression in his bowling, quite honestly lack lustre, unless he has had a life changing transformation and is suddenly a high class bowler I don’t understand the point of buying him. Maybe GMR knew something we didn’t.

Why wasn’t Gautam Gambhir retained? He is in terrific form and is a Delhite, when Sehwag was removed as captain Gambhir came in his place, so how do you not retain your captain? GMR seems to have OD’ed on something.

Some of the other interesting choices are Andrew McDonald who at the risk of sounding horrible actually looks like Ronald McDonald, either way his bowling was very temperamental and the choice to keep him on is bizarre.

If the DD team decides to make Sehwag and Warner open, it will be the stupidest move ever. The previous season showed how both Sehwag and Warner are hard hitters and neither can stop themselves or rotate strike in the presence of the other, so they end up getting dismissed almost a few balls short of each other. A dynamite pair on paper but spells disaster in reality.

A few good buys were Morne Morkel, Irfan Pathan, Ashok Dinda, Unmukt Chand and Umesh Yadav who will hopefully perform well.

There is nothing more that I hope for than having to eat my own words, if the Delhi team succeeds that will be more than enough.

Delhi Team:

  1. Virender Sehwag
  2. Morne Morkel
  3. Irfan Pathan
  4. Ashok Dinda
  5. Ajit Agarkar
  6. Naman Ojha
  7. Aaron Finch
  8. Vikas Mishra
  9. Venugopal Rao
  10. Andrew McDonald
  11. David Warner
  12. Unmukt Chand
  13. Matthew Wade
  14. Travis Birt
  15. Colin Ingram
  16. Robert Frylinck
  17. Roelof van der Merwe
  18. Umesh Yadav
  19. Robin Bist
  20. James Hopes
  21. Varun Raymond Aaron
  22. Aavishkar Salvi
  23. Rajesh Pawar
  24. Sridharan Sriram
  25. Yogesh Nagar
  26. Vivek Yadav
  27. Ajit Chandila

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Nandita Shamlal


Hey! I’m Nandita Shamlal in my final year at Amity School of Communication (Amity University) doing Journalism and Mass Communication. I have always loved sports even though I couldn’t play a single one without causing injury to myself (and others). I enjoy watching cricket the most but also enjoy tennis and basketball. Writing is something I’ve always felt was an outlet to every thought that crosses your mind. I enjoy reading, watching the television and of course, writing. Besides writing my greatest passion is playing the piano. Hope you enjoy what I write!

Warning: file_get_contents(https://graph.facebook.com/?ids=http://www.thesportsmirror.com/2011/02/ipl-4-delhi-daredevils-team-analysis/): failed to open stream: HTTP request failed! HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden in /home4/thesport/public_html/wp-content/themes/tsm/single.php on line 65


Prime Minister Narendra Modi questions shifting IPL matches

Prime Minister Narendra Modi questions shifting IPL matches

Posted by: Atish Home Chowdhury on June 27th, 2016

Prime Minister Narendra Modi questioned over the hullaballoo surrounding IPL venue shifting for staging T20s in drought hit areas of Maharashtra last month. Whi ..


Chennaiyin FC retain Marco Materazzi as manager

Chennaiyin FC retain Marco Materazzi as manager

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on July 7th, 2016

Chennai, July 7 2016 – Indian Super League champions Chennaiyin FC are delighted to announce that they have retained Marco Materazzi as their manager for the ..


Justine and Safin enter the Tennis Hall of Fame

Justine and Safin enter the Tennis Hall of Fame

Posted by: Anjan K Merkap on March 10th, 2016

Justine Henin of Belgium and Marat Safin of Russia have been inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame on Tuesday. Both Henin and Safin are former wor ..


Formula One for sale

Formula One for sale

Posted by: Anjan K Merkap on March 29th, 2016

Bernie Ecclestone, the commercial owner of Formula One is ready to sell the entire 35% controlling stake in the racing series which is owned by holding company ..


Vijender Singh dedicates his win to Indian Armed Forces

Vijender Singh dedicates his win to Indian Armed Forces

Posted by: Anjan K Merkap on March 18th, 2016

Indian boxing sensation, Vijender Singh dedicated his fourth professional victory to the martyrs of the Indian Armed Forces, in the Pathankot attack. The 30-yea ..

Other Sports

‘The Great India Run’ ropes in bookmyshow.com to manage registrations

‘The Great India Run’ ropes in bookmyshow.com to manage registrations

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on July 8th, 2016

New Delhi; July  8th 2016:  India’s first ever multi-city marathon event ‘The Great India Run’ has roped in ticketing giants bookmyshow.com to help ma ..

One stop guide to all the sports news, reviews, opinions, fixtures and live scores from India and around the world. A true reflection of sports.

Copyright © 2012 | The Sports Mirror