Cricket From 90: Best Captain – Part 2

They stood at two opposite ends of the corner, one never liked to lose and other always liked to win, and they achieved possible impossible during their time as captain.

Best Captains: Steve Waugh and Sourav Ganguly

Best Captains: Steve Waugh and Sourav Ganguly

As with three players I mentioned in my list of Cricket From 90: Best Captain – Part 1, we continue to see two more great legend of the game.

Steve Waugh, Australia

If there is a team that can challenge Clive Lloyd team, then it ought to be Waugh team. It’s straight as that with the amount and way of success the Australian team had under him. Steve Waugh inherited good players from Mark Taylor period and made them greats on his way to forming an invincible team. Steve Waugh took the captaincy from 1997 in ODI and 1999 in Test from Mark Taylor.

Steve led his team to undefeated world cup win in 1999 and followed it by 16 consecutive test wins which was ended by India at 2001. There was many occasion where Australian team came from nowhere to beat the opposition as they inherited the strong attitude that Steve himself had. He made his players aggressive, ruthless and self destructive as they whitewashed many opponents than anyone did in the history of cricket. Waugh forced the structure of work ethic to change and more backroom staffs as a result his team hardly shown any fatigue or compliance or injuries even now.

“I think he set great examples the way cricket should be played. And in tough conditions, he’s produced some tremendous performances in the past, and anyone would want to play like him, and he’s taken the game to a different level as far as mental toughness is concerned.” by Sachin Tendulkar, Indian cricket player.

Sourav Ganguly, India

Peoples and players owe lot to him because he gave lot to the team than it gave back for him. Ganguly took the captaincy under the clouds of match fixing scandal in 2000 and led the team to the finals of the ICC mini world cup in 2000, then followed the “Final Frontier” as Steve Waugh described the tour after winning 15 matches on a row. Ganguly on his home turf somehow scripted the magical sequence of play that could have been ultimate blockbuster hit in movie theaters.

India came from behind to both end the Waugh 16 match unbeaten streak and win the series 2-1 in what arguably the one of best series ever played. India then went on to draw the test series in England before clinching the Natwest ODI series in a dramatic way. When no one gave them a chance, Sourav led the Indian team to the final of 2003 only to lose against Australia. Sourav then toured to meet Steve on his final show for Aussie in 2003/04 test series in which India outclassed Australia yet missed the chance to go one over Waugh men.

Sourav thought Indians how to win in overseas, made them aggressive, molded as team, broke the regionalism, backed the youngsters and took the challenges for the benefit of team. He was fittingly nicknamed as “Warrior Prince” but had Indian board shown more desire, he would have got nicknamed “Winning Prince”.

“I suggested Sourav name to succeed me. I always thought that he had had the ability to lead the team. He is a thinking cricketer who loves challenges. He is always ready to take a few risks and loves to lead the team aggressively.” by Sachin Tendulkar after resigning from captain of Indian team.


It is very tough to choose one from this five. Cronje is master of tactician and if not for his addict to money, he would have gone down as one of the greatest ever. Had Ganguly crossed the final hurdles, he could have the best but Steve had boon to be winner. But after considering lot of constraints, my pick is both Steve Waugh and Sourav Ganguly, for the best captains of cricket from 90.

Notably mention goes to Stephen Fleming, New Zealand and Mark Taylor, Australia.

Tags: , , , , , ,



Sony Pictures to acquire TEN Sports from ZEE

Sony Pictures to acquire TEN Sports from ZEE

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on August 31st, 2016

Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN) today announced that SPN and its affiliates have entered into definitive agreements to acquire TEN Sports Network from Zee En ..


Indian players can benefit from ISL: Constantine

Indian players can benefit from ISL: Constantine

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on September 21st, 2016

India football coach Stephen Constantine believes domestic players have lots to gain from the Indian Super League as they rub shoulders with knowledgeable inter ..


Justine and Safin enter the Tennis Hall of Fame

Justine and Safin enter the Tennis Hall of Fame

Posted by: Anjan K Merkap on March 10th, 2016

Justine Henin of Belgium and Marat Safin of Russia have been inducted into the International Tennis Hall of Fame on Tuesday. Both Henin and Safin are former wor ..


Formula One for sale

Formula One for sale

Posted by: Anjan K Merkap on March 29th, 2016

Bernie Ecclestone, the commercial owner of Formula One is ready to sell the entire 35% controlling stake in the racing series which is owned by holding company ..


Vijender Singh dedicates his win to Indian Armed Forces

Vijender Singh dedicates his win to Indian Armed Forces

Posted by: Anjan K Merkap on March 18th, 2016

Indian boxing sensation, Vijender Singh dedicated his fourth professional victory to the martyrs of the Indian Armed Forces, in the Pathankot attack. The 30-yea ..

Other Sports

The Chaliyar River gets a new life

The Chaliyar River gets a new life

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on September 17th, 2016

Gone are the days when the thought of river Chaliyar brought a dirty, dead river to your mind. Nowadays, walking on its banks is an awesome experience. The rive ..

One stop guide to all the sports news, reviews, opinions, fixtures and live scores from India and around the world. A true reflection of sports.

Copyright © 2012 | The Sports Mirror