Clash of Titans: Anirban Lahiri, SSP Chowrasia, Rashid Khan to vie for Best Golfer title at India Golf Awards

New Delhi, Feb 12, 2015: Ace golfers Anirban Lahiri, SSP Chowrasia and Rashid Khan will vie for the prestigious Best Golfer Award during the much-awaited second edition of the Take Solutions India Golf Awards that will recognize the best of the Indian golfing talent in a gala ceremony on February 16.

India Golf Awards

India Golf Awards

The India Golf Awards, powered by, is the country’s foremost awards for recognizing and rewarding golf excellence. After due diligence and tough screening, the jury announced nominations under various categories.

In the best female golfer category, Neha Thripathi, Simi Mehra, Vani Kapoor, Ankita Tiwana and Sharmila Nicolet made it to the final cut.

“Recognizing meritorious sportspersons who have strived beyond boundaries in achieving benchmarks is laudable. These awards are doing a great effort in promoting the sport and rewarding excellence that can only have a positive impact on futuregenerations of Indian Sportspersons,” said Champika Sayal, Secretary General, Women’s Golf Association of India and Jury member.

This year the Jury was kicked off by five-time British Open winner Peter Thomson and conducted by a team of solid golf veterans that included Arjuna Awardee and former golf champion Ashok Malik, pro tour golfer Gaurav Ghei and Champika Sayal of Women’s Golf Association of India. The Jury, which is always led by a star legend, was championed last year by Gary Player.

“In its second year, India Golf Awards has grown much bigger. We received far more nominations this time compared to what we got last year. This huge response shows that the sport is gaining ground in the country with more people, apart from professional ones, willing to learn the nuances and nitty gritties of the game. Our move to honour golf infrastructure and golf enthusiasts too have made a significant impact in the sport’s promotion,” said Shaili Chopra, curator of India Golf Awards and Founder of Ms Chopra is an award winning journalist, author and entrepreneur.

Other than from professional golfers, the awards also recognize the golfing business community, budding talent, celebrities and bureaucrats who play the sport, with the objective to promote the game in the country.

The awards will see Chikkarangappa S, Khalin Joshi and Shubhankar Sharma take on each other for best rising golfer in the male category, while Shweta Galande, Vaishavi Sinha and Gursimar Budhwal will be fighting for the title in the female segment. Interestingly the Awards converge online with the offline by conducting a voting poll on for the country’s most popular golfer making this a very exciting digital space to watch for.

The grandeur of India Golf Awards lies in the fact that it not only celebrates the best talent, but also the best of golf infrastructure in the country. To honour brilliant golf infrastructure, several nominations under the category too have been announced.

For the best golf academy, the battle will be between Jaypee Greens, Tollygunge Academy, Delhi Golf Club, Touche Golf and Chandigarh Golf Range Academy. Jaypee Greens will also lock horns with Kensville, ITC Classic Golf Resort, Royal Calcutta and Kalhaar Blues & Greens for the best golf course in the country. For best golf real estate, the competition will be between Champion Reef Bangalore, Jaypee Greens, Kensville and Prestige Golfshire.

The awards will also honour those who play the sport as a hobby, but do so with utmost sincerity. Papa CJ, Neelam Rudy, Latika Khaneja, Murali Kartik, ace fashion designer Nikhil Mehra, Abbas Ali Baig and JJ Singh have been nominated for best celebrity golfer this time.

The February 16 event will have in attendance Power Minister Shri Piyush Goyal as the chief guest. Top golf seeders led by Anirban Lahiri, Arjun Atwal and Shiv Kapur along with special guests of honour and top CEOs will be present at the event.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,


Aspiring Media Enthusiast, Cricket Tragic, Football Fanatic, Avid Reader, Amateur Photographer & Wannabe Sports Writer.


Wonder Cement Saath7 Cricket Mahotsav keeps going bigger and bigger!

Wonder Cement Saath7 Cricket Mahotsav keeps going bigger and bigger!

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on November 4th, 2017

The 2nd edition of Saath7 Cricket Mahotsav, organized by Wonder Cement is flagged off at The Taj Mahal Hotel in the esteemed presence of legendary Cricketer  ..


The Premier League arrives in Bengaluru

The Premier League arrives in Bengaluru

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on October 14th, 2017

The Premier League has arrived in Bengaluru. Legends such as Alan Shearer, John Barnes, Robert Pires and Shay Given will be meeting fans who are at the Premier ..


Rafael Nadal vs Stan Wawrinka: French Open Men’s Final 2017 – Preview

Rafael Nadal vs Stan Wawrinka: French Open Men’s Final 2017 – Preview

Posted by: Atish Home Chowdhury on June 11th, 2017

The stage is set for the mouth-watering and nail-biting clash of the two Tennis stalwarts of the current era; Rafael Nadal and Stan Wawrinka. This will be the u ..


Life Lessons learned from Sports & Fitness #TOSBDay

Life Lessons learned from Sports & Fitness #TOSBDay

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on September 26th, 2016

Held on Sept 1st, The Outstanding Speakers’ Bureau (TOSB) Twinterview consisted of sports panelists such as Mark Gallagher (Public Speaker on F1 race), Shayam ..


Boxing Federation of India successfully concludes AIBA Course and Examination

Boxing Federation of India successfully concludes AIBA Course and Examination

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on February 24th, 2017

Rohtak, February 24, 2016: In continuation to produce the AIBA certified Coaches, Referees and Judges; Boxing Federation of India successfully organised the AIB ..

Other Sports

Indian athletes begin impressively at 22nd Asian Athletics Championships

Indian athletes begin impressively at 22nd Asian Athletics Championships

Posted by: Vikram Kamboj on July 6th, 2017

Indian interests on the opening day of the 22nd Asian Athletics Championships were high with national record holder Muhammed Anas easing into the semi-finals of ..

One stop guide to all the latest sports news, reviews, opinions, fixtures and live scores from India and around the world.

Copyright © 2017 | The Sports Mirror